Your Events
See more
Social Networks
Castello di Petroia Hotel | Relais in Umbria - Castello di Petroia
In Umbria, halfway between Perugia and Gubbio, stands the castle of Petroia on the horizon: a charming relais surrounded by rolling hills, a place of excellence and relaxation, for those who love privacy and tranquility.
relais umbria, Castle in Umbria, relais Gubbio
15421
page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,page,page-id-15421,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-title-hidden,side_area_uncovered_from_content,qode-content-sidebar-responsive,qode-theme-ver-10.1.2,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.1,vc_responsive

Localization and Structure of the Castle

Castello di Petroia is an authentic medieval fortress, dated back to the IX – X century, situated in Umbria, called The Green heart of Italy. Nestled on a hilltop between Perugia and Gubbio it offers a picturesque view of the surrounding landscape. The Castle was restored between 1982 and 1990, carefully preserving the authentic medieval structure.

 

There are three buildings inside the fortress walls:

 

  • Medieval Tower: original with its amazing top terrace.

 

  • Castellare Maggiore: the main structure, where the Noble family apartments were.

 

  • Castellare Minore “the smaller building”: where the guardians of the Castle used to live.

 

The thousand-year history of the Castle

The origins of Castello di Petroia are to be found in the year 1072, when the independent town of Gubbio built castles to protect its territories.

 

  • In 1384 the Count of Montefeltro occupied Gubbio and became both the Lord of the city and the Castle. 30 years later the Castle was sold to the Accomanducci family.

 

  • On 7th June 1422 the young Elisabetta degli Accomanducci gave birth to Federico da Montefeltro, the famous Duke of Urbino and one of the most important Italian Renaissance warlords.

 

 

Castello di Petroia had different owners over the centuries. Many famous families lived here:

 

  • In 1396 the Count Galasso da Montefeltro bought the Castle and the lands of Petroia.
  • In 1414, Matteo degli Accomanducci from Urbino purchased Petroia.
  • In 1458 Elisabetta degli Accomanducci inherited the entire property and received feudal titles that remained in the family for three generations.
  • In 1487 Guidubaldo da Montefeltro gave the castle and its lands to Alessandro Reggeri from Canossa. The property remained in the hands of his family for 4 generations.
  • In 1617 Camilla di Canossa, who had no children, donated the Castle to Monte di Pietà of Reggio Emilia (a mortgage institution for charity).
  • In 1629 Monte di Pietà sold the Castle to the Ugolini family.
  • From 1823 on, the Castle and its lands belonged to the Benveduti family (marquises of Gubbio).
  • In 1925 (on Good Friday) the whole property was bought by David Sagrini and 20 years ago, Carlo Claudio Sagrini turned it into “Castello di Petroia relais”.

Photo Gallery